Installing An Upgraded 4" Coax Into The Center Channel

JT Si

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Car
Country flag
I'll preface this with I picked a bunch of alpine speakers to upgrade my Si stereo.

Unfortunately Alpine doesn't make a 3.5" speaker to install for the center, so on the recommendation of many here I bought the JL C2-350X.

The JL was far louder and much more abrasive than the alpine tweeters, so I knew it had to go. I had bought Alpine 4" coax speakers for the rear and since I decided to upsize the rear to 5.25" I figured I'd try one for the center.

Luckily, with just plugging the Alpine 4" into the center, it was much quieter and more pleasant, blending into the front soundstage and matching the sound of the tweeters.

I studied the center channel mount and decided I'd give it a try.

Honda Civic 10th gen Installing An Upgraded 4" Coax Into The Center Channel IMG_20200718_162258

First I cut down the stock ring that mates to the OEM center. Then I cut off the corner screw mount.

I had to make sure to cut a clear path for the Tom Kap 4" ring to seat correctly.

Honda Civic 10th gen Installing An Upgraded 4" Coax Into The Center Channel IMG_20200718_162312

I used a hacksaw to cut down the Tom Kap 4" ABS ring and test fit it. It definitely looked doable, so I moved forward. Minor tweaks to the plastic OEM cover to make sure it seated flat

Honda Civic 10th gen Installing An Upgraded 4" Coax Into The Center Channel IMG_20200718_162328

Test fitting the speaker.

I knew It was going to work, so I filed down the ring until it was an appropriate thickness. About 22mm for the screw side that I left attached and 20mm for the corner mount I cut off to remount.

Honda Civic 10th gen Installing An Upgraded 4" Coax Into The Center Channel IMG_20200719_135905

I had to file out the speaker side of the ring a fair amount to open it up enough to not press against the surround of the speaker.