How Much Does The Stock Clutch Improve After "Break-In"

CyberCT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic SI Coupe
Country flag
I put roughly 250 miles on my new SI and love the looks, handling, interior, and torque. I'm following the break-in procedure for the most part so I'm not going balls to the wall yet. The only part that I find super annoying is the stock clutch.

It's like the engagement point is nowhere near the floor but I'm pushing the clutch in all the way to the floor anyway. It's super sensitive when starting to push in or out on the pedal and I'm still not used to a smooth modulation between clutch and gas. I HOPE this really improves over time because it's super annoying.

I've been driving manual cars for 14 years, the last 9 with my 2006 RSX. The stock clutch was fine on that car but the aftermarket Competition Clutch Stage 1.5 on it was an absolute dream to use. It engages/disengages right off the floor and the modulation between gas and clutch was smooth and simple, even if that clutch was pretty heavy. It was paired with an 8 lb flywheel.
Sponsored

Chief 08

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Si coupe
Country flag
You will probably get used to it as time goes on. One option for better feel, is to remove the clutch delay valve.

OP
OP

CyberCT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic SI Coupe
Country flag
Not knowing what that was, I searched this forum and wow ... WTF Honda?? I'm going to wait for a few thousand miles but then this is going on my list of to-do's.

I'll probably just order one from Honda, do the removal on the new one, then find someone that can help just do the straight up swap and bleeding the system. Then once swapped I'll sell the one on my car now to someone else that wants to do it the same way.

bwsteg

First Name
Kevin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Honda Civic Si
Country flag