HKS Cold Air Intake Full Kit w/o AFR + Hondata

thaiphob25

Senior Member
First Name
Mark
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
61
Location
Los Angeles CA
Car(s)
Civic Type R # 00054
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
Its been two weeks since ive installed my HKS intake and used the hondata tune with Eventri base map. Two weeks running fine now I get a CEL code P0101 Mass Air Flow Sensor Circuit Range/Performance. Tried reseting ECU and then test drove it. about 30min after drive the code comes up again. Ideas?? Which base map did you guys use?





Advertisement

 
OP

thaiphob25

Senior Member
First Name
Mark
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
61
Location
Los Angeles CA
Car(s)
Civic Type R # 00054
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
Yes it's the one with the CF box. I'm not sure what could have changed over 2 weeks

20190724_213343.jpg
 

Tim818

King Of The ‘Ring
Joined
Dec 19, 2015
Messages
1,544
Reaction score
1,424
Location
Texas
Car(s)
2006 Civic EX, 2018 CTR
Country flag
You could disable that code in the option when after you choose a new tune.
 

typerui

Member
First Name
chin
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
28
Reaction score
10
Location
NYC
Car(s)
FK8
Country flag
Its been two weeks since ive installed my HKS intake and used the hondata tune with Eventri base map. Two weeks running fine now I get a CEL code P0101 Mass Air Flow Sensor Circuit Range/Performance. Tried reseting ECU and then test drove it. about 30min after drive the code comes up again. Ideas?? Which base map did you guys use?
you going to need a custom map, the MAF housing is different from all the other intake on the market.
 

boosted180sx

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
4,218
Reaction score
3,734
Location
torrance, ca
Car(s)
2017 CTR, 2019 370Z Nismo, '16 ILX
Country flag
Its been two weeks since ive installed my HKS intake and used the hondata tune with Eventri base map. Two weeks running fine now I get a CEL code P0101 Mass Air Flow Sensor Circuit Range/Performance. Tried reseting ECU and then test drove it. about 30min after drive the code comes up again. Ideas?? Which base map did you guys use?
well the maf table i'm sure is not the same as eventuri so i'm not surprised it pulled a code. Why did it take two weeks? i have no idea.

I don't think hondata has a maf calibration out for the hks so your gonna have to calibrate it yourself or wait till they release it.
 

Hayabusa160

The Master
First Name
Matthew
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
304
Reaction score
121
Location
New jersey
Car(s)
Civic type r
Country flag
Larger intake tube throws the maf readings
The maf tables needs to be adjusted to correct it
You need to get the car tuned
 

bngtrrz

Senior Member
First Name
Benjamin
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
65
Reaction score
10
Location
hawaii
Car(s)
2018 Civic Type R
Country flag
Did you ever get this fixed? I’m dealing with a similar issue. But mine only turns on when I’m cruising on the freeway. So after about 5-10 min of keeping ~60-70 mph it turns on.
 

FK8_K20c1

HONDA The Power of Earth Dreams Technology!
First Name
Jonathan
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Messages
1,101
Reaction score
657
Location
Indiana
Car(s)
FK8 Type R
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
Make sure you check under the mod list. “Remove p0101 and p0103 error” and you should be good. Also the eventuri intake was designed different than the hks. I dont think you are gaining anything by selecting the eventuri intake mod.
 

bngtrrz

Senior Member
First Name
Benjamin
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
65
Reaction score
10
Location
hawaii
Car(s)
2018 Civic Type R
Country flag
Make sure you check under the mod list. “Remove p0101 and p0103 error” and you should be good. Also the eventuri intake was designed different than the hks. I dont think you are gaining anything by selecting the eventuri intake mod.
do you know if that option is also available for ktuner?
 

FK8_K20c1

HONDA The Power of Earth Dreams Technology!
First Name
Jonathan
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Messages
1,101
Reaction score
657
Location
Indiana
Car(s)
FK8 Type R
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
I never had that issue on ktuner. Only when I switched to Flashpro.
 
OP

thaiphob25

Senior Member
First Name
Mark
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
67
Reaction score
61
Location
Los Angeles CA
Car(s)
Civic Type R # 00054
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #12
Make sure you check under the mod list. “Remove p0101 and p0103 error” and you should be good. Also the eventuri intake was designed different than the hks. I dont think you are gaining anything by selecting the eventuri intake mod.
I was selecting P0101 and P0103 but for some reason it wasnt mapping over. so i ununstalled flashpro software and reinstalled it with the updates and BOOM CEL gone
 

FK8_K20c1

HONDA The Power of Earth Dreams Technology!
First Name
Jonathan
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Messages
1,101
Reaction score
657
Location
Indiana
Car(s)
FK8 Type R
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
I was selecting P0101 and P0103 but for some reason it wasnt mapping over. so i ununstalled flashpro software and reinstalled it with the updates and BOOM CEL gone
Good to hear man.
 

02SilverSiHB

Senior Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Jan 3, 2018
Messages
2,636
Reaction score
1,631
Location
Colorado Springs, CO
Car(s)
2017 FK8
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
Its been two weeks since ive installed my HKS intake and used the hondata tune with Eventri base map. Two weeks running fine now I get a CEL code P0101 Mass Air Flow Sensor Circuit Range/Performance. Tried reseting ECU and then test drove it. about 30min after drive the code comes up again. Ideas?? Which base map did you guys use?
Not sure if you ever got your issue fixed but kineticautoworks may be something to look into...they do remote tuning also

My hks intake is great zero problems... given only a day of ownership though
https://www.civicx.com/forum/thread...take-intercooler-and-pipes-398tq-383hp.49549/

https://instagram.com/kineticautoworks?igshid=d05nrg64yopi
 

bngtrrz

Senior Member
First Name
Benjamin
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
65
Reaction score
10
Location
hawaii
Car(s)
2018 Civic Type R
Country flag
update for my situation in case someone in the future runs into this problem and is looking for a thread with info. lol.
was running the ktuner and the program wasnt being friendly with my tuner. whenever he would mess with scaling it wouldnt cooperate. i switched over to hondata to we could just delete the code like previous post stated, but my tuner wasnt comfortable with that bandaid fix. he sat there for about an hour ensuring all the tables looked good. i guess the issue was that volts were spiking after some cruising which he wanted to fix. at the end of the tune we was able to fix the cruising issue and tuned the car properly. no CELs since.
 

Advertisement






Advertisement
Top