Arnoldo
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Honda Civic Hatchback
Country flag
Car: Honda Civic 1.5T CVT Hatchback

Background

I've been using Hondata Flashpro for a little over 5 months now. I purchased the device from one of reputable tuners in my country. He mentioned that many tuned Civic Gen.10 in my country experienced connecting rod damage due to excessive boost pressure. He defined excessive as in 21 PSI and higher. He stated that he would tune my Flashpro with no change in boost but only fuel tuning. Unfortunately, he wasn't entirely honest as he only flashed +6 PSI High Octane basemap.

I've been trying to learn how to tune my car since then but very confused because there were may parameters need to look at.

I decided to purchased TSP Stage-1 Tune for Non-SI. I thought this is a safe canned tune that I could rely on because many Civic X member use this tune, either in KTuner or Flashpro platform.

BUT..... There is no other country has tuned Civic X with damaged conrod due to excessive boost (21 PSI and higher) like in my country.

I tried to read TSP Stage-1 Tune binary file and found some worrying factors. First, peak boost is 23 PSI, & second, torque limit from 3,500 RPM was set higher than Hondata safe threshold of 250 Nm.

I know there is still no hard facts/evidence that proofs 250 nm is really maximum torque that CVT can handle but no other member from other countries but my country heard about tuned Civic X with damaged conrod.

So, better safe than sorry, I try to learn how to tune the basic parts such as AFM, Boost pressure, and Torque limit.

Environment:
  • Ambient Temperature: 26 Celcius to 35 Celcius
  • Humidity : 72% - 83%

19 PSI Tune Version 1.01

Basemap used :
+3 PSI Hondata basemap

Modifications Selected:
  • Optimized Turbo Response
  • Improved Throttle Response

Changes made:
  • Closed Loop : Select "Use MAP to determine WOT"