Si Has anyone here heard a light knocking noise during fast idle in the cold?????

PowerPerLiter

Specific Output
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Si Coupe 91 Talon TSI AWD 6262 280's N20 and 87 Buick Regal T 6776bb built N20
Let me start off by saying I am a service adviser by trade and a certified adviser for Honda at the dealership level for 2+ years (been advising for almost a decade for 5 manufacturers).

I know what vtc rattle is and sounds like. This is not that.

It has been happening since brand new (7 miles) and is so light most of the time I question how many "normal" drivers would notice this.

It is not rhythmic and sounds like a knock not a tick and seems to be under valve cover toward passenger side of engine compartment.

Cam chain barely contacting valve cover was another possibility.

Almost sounds light piston slap but Im not so sure.

High pressure fuel pump relief possibly?

Seems like a sound the square cam lobe that operates the pump could make if the pump actuator arm was "bouncing a little" off the cam lobe.

Can I get any input on if anyone else has experienced this?

It hasn't changed or gotten worse and I am changing oil every 5 k miles religiously with the real full synthetic Honda 0w-20. With honda filter.
Sponsored

OP
OP
PowerPerLiter

PowerPerLiter

Specific Output
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Si Coupe 91 Talon TSI AWD 6262 280's N20 and 87 Buick Regal T 6776bb built N20
maybe the dual mass flywheel??

dallasjhawk

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic EX-T, 2015 Acura RDX AWD Tech
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
a video with the sound would help a lot

OP
OP
PowerPerLiter

PowerPerLiter

Specific Output
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I would post one but i dont think its going to pick it up. Its that faint. But in person and listening for it its definitely noticeable. Ill see what I can do.

At this point I am just seeing what possible options there are to be creating this and brain storm it.