Cam1456

First Name
Cameron
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Type r 2018
Country flag
Just got a 2021 bb type r, I love the shit out this car, and had for a over a week now. So I’m leaving. My garage and rev up to about 4500 to 5000 and shift into 2nd gear and when doing that it like made a afoul noise like crunching or like rattling so I put it in neutral and pull over. Not sure why it did that, I’m very new to how Honda’s work & their gearbox’s. I have read about the past fk8 issues.
Sponsored

kefi

oh shit waddup its dat boi
Threads
Reaction score
Website
fk8.clinic
Vehicle(s)
2018 Type R
Build Thread
Link
Country flag
Gear grinds are common on FK8s. Some recommendations are swapping the transmission fluid, adjusting the clutch master cylinder, or deleting the slave clutch delay valve.

It’ll happen to most people sooner or later and rarely goes away completely. Just make sure you’re never lazy with pushing the clutch pedal in.

It happens to me, but fairly rarely. Just get into neutral and go back into gear.

OP
OP

Cam1456

First Name
Cameron
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Type r 2018
Country flag
Gear grinds are common on FK8s. Some recommendations are swapping the transmission fluid, adjusting the clutch master cylinder, or deleting the slave clutch delay valve.

It’ll happen to most people sooner or later and rarely goes away completely. Just make sure you’re never lazy with pushing the clutch pedal in.

It happens to me, but fairly rarely. Just get into neutral and go back into gear.
Could that do damage to the clutch or the tranny?

kefi

oh shit waddup its dat boi
Threads
Reaction score
Website
fk8.clinic
Vehicle(s)
2018 Type R
Build Thread
Link
Country flag
Could that do damage to the clutch or the tranny?