From 2004 TSX to 2017 Si

dmitri

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Si sedan
Country flag
Got to test-drive it finally. Wanted to make a quick review specific to differences between the Si and my (stock) 2004 TSX, in case someone else is interested/in a similar boat.

Here's a very brief "basic specs" comparison I put together earlier.

Disclaimer: I'm no expert by any stretch of imagination; just a regular guy with a desk job who likes to drive manuals. All my cars have been stock manual Hondas/Acuras - '02 RSX Type S, '97 Integra GS-R and '94 Civic Ex. Never drove a turbo before (not counting a couple short test-drives awhile ago). And never raced. Well... at least not on track... :)

Caveat: I drove the car exactly like I would if it were mine (during break-in period), so as a result I never went past about 4500 RPM. I'm sure one would feel even more positive difference once they got closer to the 5700 peak.

99% of the drive was in 'SPORT mode' -- the only differences I noticed were in the amount of body roll and throttle response. (As I and some others mentioned earlier, Honda should've just dropped the "two-mode" thing altogether and went with the 'sport' setup by default. It's supposed to be 'Sport-Injected', after all... Oh well. Pressing that button will just have to become an integral part of my car-starting procedure.)

Acceleration
When taking off fast from standing the TSX seems as fast or possibly a bit faster than the Si -- while in first gear, i.e. before the turbo kicks in. (Also remember, I didn't really push the Si, so who knows how full-throttle would feel in 1st.) And, even if not actually faster, the TSX did seem to feel more "responsive" and eager to go from the very start.