First track event in a car! Interesting experience.

Chi_The_Process

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Honda Civic Type R
Country flag
I had the pleasure of driving on a 1 mile local closed course yesterday. This is not a rack track. The event was held at a local college where several organizations (Motorcycle, Cars, Emergency Response Vehicles) conducts their training. I have ridden this course over a million times on my motorcycle when I was a riding instructor. However, this organization ran the course in reserve (kinda threw me off at first). The day was set up with 3x20 min session.

Coming from a motorcycle racing background this was quiet a different experience. I have never driven a car on the track prior to yesterday. The size of the car made it hard to gauge the distance to the curb during the first session. On the bike, you can visually see everything ahead of you. You know exactly how much tarmac you have available to use. The apex was a little off but I got use to that really quick. With the car, you’re using a point of reference on your hood to pin point where to place the nose of the car.

My car is stock except for the 27WON motor mount. I drove with the rev match on. I broke my right ankle in high school and I don’t have the range of motion compare to my left. This is my first time out, I just wanted to enjoy the experience and focus on cornering.

Handling: The car handled extremely well. The car has very quick steering response. It was quick in the tight change of direction until the tires faded. Small mistakes and mid corner adjustments was very forgiving. The rev match felt like my R6 slipper clutch. :) The rear end of the car was floating a bit under heavy braking but it was very stable.

Brakes: The stock Brembo pads held up well. I did notice the pedal started to get mushy when I was pushing it. This can be a number of things but I’ll swap out the brake fluid to Motul next time.