Does anyone have experience with the 1.0L engine?

Masternap

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
None
Hi,

I'm completely new to Honda after my first car broke down after 16 years. I came across the Honda Civic as a possible candidate and I'll probably do a test drive next week. I've noticed that it seems to come with the 1.5L engine by default, but on the German website there's an option for 1.0L:

Honda Civic 10th gen Does anyone have experience with the 1.0L engine? 3yK1q2O

It's really hard to find information on this engine as it doesn't seem to exist in the US. Most used Civics in Germany use this one though, so I wanted to ask if someone knows more about it. Specifically I want to know what you're probably all tired of hearing about - does it have the same oil dilution thing going on that the 1.5L does? It also seems to be a turbo engine, so I'm really not sure what's the difference.

I'm just asking because I'm pretty sure that most used cars don't have that fix installed and if I have to ask about it or if it's really just the 1.5L one.

Thanks!

Attachments

Captaindicki

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Honda Civic Si Coupe (sold)
Country flag
On this side of the world no one would choose a 1 liter engine. It's just too slow and small. I don't think one exists here. Even the 1.5T is too small for many. Here its all about HP and displacement

jred721

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'20 Accord Sport
Country flag
The 1.0T is pretty slow with 129 hp and a 0-60 of 10.9 seconds which is rediculously slow by American standards (probably even European). I know not everyone is looking for speed but I personally think thats just too slow period, even if you're driving normally. I'd say step up to 1.5 for sure.

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Civic Type R #00969 BLK, 2015 Nissan 370Z Roadster (BLK), 2019 Civic Si Modern Steel Metalic
Country flag

gtman

First Name
Mitch
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.civicx.com
Vehicle(s)