DIY Request: Brake Fluid Change

somarilnos

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Honda Civic EX-T
Country flag
Has anyone done this on their Civic yet who is willing to provide a write-up on the subject? It's due with my next oil change and this is something I've never done on my own before. Any advice on the subject would be appreciated.
Sponsored

OP
OP

somarilnos

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Honda Civic EX-T
Country flag
That looks like a good video - thanks for sharing. Once I got past the thick Philly accent in a stretch where he said "water" like 20 times in a minute, it was smooth sailing. Should be helpful in doing this!

OP
OP

somarilnos

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Honda Civic EX-T
Country flag
15535579_720023001495021_1306466843136884736_n.jpg
ChrisFix is awesome. I watch him even tho I know how to do all that stuff already lol
It's a well done video, and I appreciate that he goes into the additional explanation as to why this is important. More than just being able to do these things, I like being able to understand what's going on, and it helps for that.

davidgostbo

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Honda Civic Ex-t 2016
Country flag
I’ll attempt to do a video today. Make sure you do the brakes in this order for our car Driver front, passenger front, passenger rear, driver rear. After doing all that pump brakes 5 times and drain passenger rear and driver rear once more. Might also want to lube up your brake caliper pin with silicone paste since you have everything off.

https://www.civicx.com/threads/brake-fluid-code-7-after-only-33k-highway-miles.20247/page-4
Look for a comment by BaldHeadRacing, he graciously provided us with Honda’s brake fluid instructions

Last edited:

Phylanx

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'12 CRV, '17 Si Sedan
Country flag
Love watching ChrisFix's videos. It helped me with changing out the rotors and pads on the CRV.

Frixos

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
MINI Cooper R56, 2016 Civic EX