DIY In-Tank Fuel Pump Install - Quick Write Up (Lack Pictures)

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
17 civic hb sport
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
Introduction
I own a 2017 civic hatchback sport 6 MT. I am not a mechanic, but I love to tinker. I have acquired a bigger fuel pump to replace my stock fuel pump. After installation, the car started with my current tune. Drove around and did not notice any change to my AFR.

Install Time: 2 hours

Install Difficulty (1 easy - 5 hard): 3 (due to meticulous procedure, not breaking any plastic clips)

Tools: (from what I can remember)
12mm socket
10mm socket
3/8 extension
ratchet or impact
mini flat head
flat head screw driver
philips head screw driver
rubber mallet
Narrow tipped hose vacuum
Optional: C-shaped pinch pliers (I didn't have one, but will definitely help)
Optional: 3x small plastic trim removers

Step 1: Removal of Seats and Trunk Liner
Follow video guide in removing back seat (upper and lower) and trunk cover.

After removal, the pump cover will be between the seat and trunk.
Turn Philip screw counterclockwise to align the hole.
Careful lift the cover.

Step 2: Cut off Power
Disconnect negative battery terminal in the engine bay.
Carefully lift up the pump cover and you will disconnect the wire harness.
Put the wire and pump cover aside.
You will need to vacuum because its full of dirt and debris. You don't want this to fall into your gas tank. You make need to do this occasionally along the way, just to be safe.

Step 3: Disconnecting the Hoses
My position upon facing this. Back of my head facing the front of the car. My face facing the back of the car.
There are three hoses: 10, 3, and 7 (Using clock positioning)
Hose at 3: There's a clip you have to pull on top using a mini flat head. Carefully pry and pull out. This takes a bit of strength and carefully move it off the plastic.
Hose at 7: This was the easiest. I thinking you just press the sides and pull it off.