CVT rubberband at low speeds

TheHorse13

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Civic LX
Country flag
2019 base model Civic sedan with the 2.0 N/A motor mated up to the CVT.
10,000 miles on the clock.
Mostly a commuter shitbox until the virus arrived.
Operating temperature was normal.
No noises, leaks or any signs of trouble.

For the first time since owning the car, I found myself in stop and go traffic on a 95 degree day. The car also had 3 passengers aboard for the first time and when we first started out, everything worked as it normally does.

About 40 minutes into my stop and go traffic situation, I noticed that the CVT felt like it was slightly rubberbanding at low RPMs only. Once the tack rose above 1,700, everything started to smooth out again.

I've heard that these CVTs are not big fans of high heat. Are they notorious for rubberbanding as described above? This exact scenario was one of my fears when buying a CVT for the first time. I have no experience or comparison to any other CVT so I have no idea if what I'm experiencing is just the nature of the beast. My 2009 Civic with a regular automatic trans laughed at situations like this. It has me kinda bummed out.

What do you think? Normal?
Sponsored

OhMyItsKev

First Name
Kevin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Sport Touring
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
Do you mean rubberband like it would lurch back n forth briefly while you were accelerating at low speed?

I had a '13 Accord and it did that time to time and I just assumed that it was just normal CVT behavior. The Civic that I have now doesnt do that however... but that may be because I purchased the Ktuner almost immediately after getting the Civic

redcoats1976

First Name
jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 civic coupe,2015 camaro RS
Country flag
just bought a 2018 coupe with the same drivetrain a few months ago.no issues in steamy central florida that ive noticed...

shoegazer

assistant to the assistant manager
Threads