Changed MTF to Amsoil Synchromesh, I am Happy!

OP
OP
amirza786

amirza786

First Name
A
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Polestar 2, 2010 Lexus IS 350 Sport
Country flag
I know this thread is more than a year old, but I want to add my name to the list of those who found a huge improvement over stock fluid. I changed the MT fluid to Amsoil in both my 2017 Si and 2013 Accord Sport V6 (6 speed manual). It didn't change shifting very much, but it made the transmission engagement smoother. A lot smoother. I can 100 percent tell the difference as I've been using Honda MT fluid in my Accord since 2013.

Lets talk about the notchy or "clunk" when engaging the gears in the Si. Amsoil, or GM synchromesh or whatever is not going to fix that. The only thing that is going to fix the shifting is the Acuity Adjustable short shifter kit https://acuityinstruments.com/products/10th-gen-civic-acuity-adjustable-short-shifter. I was not a fan of this shifter, especially engaging 1st to 2nd, 3rd to 4th, and occasionally 5th to 6th, but this is what actually fixes the shifting experience. My 2013 Accord has a great shifter, It sucks that they didn't carry that over to the 10 gens

Nice write up OP, I read up a few negative reviews of Amsoil from some others here, I'm glad I listened to you and tried it. BTW, it looks like you sold your Si, are you still active on the forum?
Hello. I sold my Si September of last year and bought a 2010 Lexus IS350 Sport. I'm more involved now on clublexus, but still keep contact with some of my CivicX friends. I'm glad my posts are still helping others. I continue use Amsoil, last year I changed out my rear differential with Amsoil gear oil and soon will be changing my AT fluid with Amsoil ATF.

Come by and check me out on clublexus when you get a chance, my username is the same. You can check out my latest mods on my Lexus build page
Sponsored

Last edited:
OP
OP
amirza786

amirza786

First Name
A
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Country flag
OP
OP