CEL after installing RV6 catted DP

swoletato

Member
First Name
Rex
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Location
Virginia Beach
Car(s)
2016 Civic LX-P Coupe
Got my rv6 catted dp installed about a week ago and the following day my CEL came on. Reset the battery and it took off the CEL but came back on shortly after. Ordered a CNT 90 deg defouler and had that installed. The CEL went away but then came back a couple miles later. Any idea on what it could be? Is it one of those things where I need to go through a couple drive cycles before it clears off my dash?



 

Si2020

Member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
29
Reaction score
16
Location
Sarasota, Florida
Car(s)
2020 Honda Civic Si
Country flag
I have the catless RV6 and it came with defouler. Over 250 miles and no light yet. Didn’t disable in tuner either. Although it may be checked. I have the TSP stage one.
 

Jes_si562

Senior Member
First Name
Jesse
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
390
Reaction score
168
Location
Long Beach
Car(s)
2018 civic si. 1990 Honda civic w d16z6 swap (sold)
Country flag
Most likely is for the slow 02 respond
 

niko78

Member
First Name
Niko
Joined
Dec 4, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Location
Orange County, CA
Car(s)
2016 Honda Civic Touring 1.5T
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
same issue. installed it last week and just today the CEL light came on. wondering if i should just take it off with ktuner or if it means something more
 

360glitch

Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
3,934
Reaction score
3,814
Location
USA
Car(s)
2017 Civic Si Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
same issue. installed it last week and just today the CEL light came on. wondering if i should just take it off with ktuner or if it means something more
Yes, you need to check the code and toggle the proper disable for it. (and then resflash your ECU)
 

10GenPearlSi

Old Man
First Name
Bob
Joined
Jan 12, 2018
Messages
522
Reaction score
421
Location
Houston, Tx
Car(s)
2018 Pearl Si
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
I have TSP Stage 2 tune and installed an RV6 catted downpipe. No cel yet, but I have only had it in 3 weeks. I am keeping my fingers crossed. I would like to hear from people who have had high flow cats for a long time and haven't had a cel yet.
 

niko78

Member
First Name
Niko
Joined
Dec 4, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Location
Orange County, CA
Car(s)
2016 Honda Civic Touring 1.5T
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
Yes, you need to check the code and toggle the proper disable for it. (and then resflash your ECU)
looked into it and saw that P0139 (the code i was throwing) and P0138 are common with aftermarket downpipes. Started looking around and was able to clear the code with a single push of a button without reflashing since i have the v2 ktuner. thanks for the help!
 

360glitch

Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
3,934
Reaction score
3,814
Location
USA
Car(s)
2017 Civic Si Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
looked into it and saw that P0139 (the code i was throwing) and P0138 are common with aftermarket downpipes. Started looking around and was able to clear the code with a single push of a button without reflashing since i have the v2 ktuner. thanks for the help!
Keep in mind that will clear the code but not prevent it from happening again. That is what the disables are for. :)
 



niko78

Member
First Name
Niko
Joined
Dec 4, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Location
Orange County, CA
Car(s)
2016 Honda Civic Touring 1.5T
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
Keep in mind that will clear the code but not prevent it from happening again. That is what the disables are for. :)
oh wow. didn't know that. guess I'll work with it some more after work lol. thanks again
 

niko78

Member
First Name
Niko
Joined
Dec 4, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Location
Orange County, CA
Car(s)
2016 Honda Civic Touring 1.5T
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
Tried everything but kept coming back on after clearing code. Would I just need to get a tune? (slow o2 response)
i disabled it on my ktuner and worked fine. not sure if you have one
 
OP

swoletato

Member
First Name
Rex
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Location
Virginia Beach
Car(s)
2016 Civic LX-P Coupe
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #12
i disabled it on my ktuner and worked fine. not sure if you have one
I do not, what ktuner do I need to buy? Also do I need TSP stage one? Thanks for the reply
 

niko78

Member
First Name
Niko
Joined
Dec 4, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
4
Location
Orange County, CA
Car(s)
2016 Honda Civic Touring 1.5T
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
I do not, what ktuner do I need to buy? Also do I need TSP stage one? Thanks for the reply
no you don't need stage 1. i just bought it and it's great but you don't need it to disable the code. you don't need the v2 ktuner either the v1.2 will suffice or even hondata if you prefer it. i recommend buying a tuner if you're looking for more power. it's the best bang for your buck when looking for power
 
OP

swoletato

Member
First Name
Rex
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Location
Virginia Beach
Car(s)
2016 Civic LX-P Coupe
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #14
no you don't need stage 1. i just bought it and it's great but you don't need it to disable the code. you don't need the v2 ktuner either the v1.2 will suffice or even hondata if you prefer it. i recommend buying a tuner if you're looking for more power. it's the best bang for your buck when looking for power
I can disable the code with hondata as well?
 

Top