Memogiyi

First Name
Guillermo
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Civic Si
Country flag
I have a coworker who needs to buy a car(manufacturers warranty preferred). He’s been looking at Xgens going over $20k for an LX trim, and then mid $25k for any higher trims.

He’s made an appointment to go look at the 11gen to see if he can get it near msrp for the entry level trim.. now my question is anyone have an idea or know when this car buying bubble may pop or level out?
Sponsored

Shankmeyster

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
23 Si
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
2023 maybe. Seriously it will be when supply can meet demand again. I work in the car business and the major problem is that, last year, dealers thought "oh shit, pandemic and massive layoffs/furloughs, nobody is going to be buying vehicles so lets cut our orders massively". Then what happened was the exact opposite and US dealers sold more cars in one year than the history of car sales. Now the parts manufacturers, who were in the same situation because pandemic/loss of vehicle orders, can't get back to pre-pandemic production levels due to labor/materials shortages and Covid still being a thing. And even if they got to pre-pandemic levels it wouldn't keep up with demand because now everyone can get paid more than they did before Covid and can afford to buy more cars thereby creating even higher demand in a vicious never ending cycle.

Currently almost every vehicle any of the dealers get in in the complex I work in, is sold before it even arrives and, if it isn't, it usually sells within a day or 2 of going on the lot. Car lots around here are extremely low on inventory and I'm surprised some sales departments are even still operating. Service departments are booming however and cannot keep up with incoming vehicles, and replacement parts are extremely hard to find as well. So hope to god that that new vehicle your buddy buys doesn't break down or have an issue within the first 6 months.