arnoldo

First Name
Arnoldo
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Honda Civic Hatchback
Country flag
DISCLAIMER: I am not a tuner and I'm still new with tuning. Appreciate your feedback if you'd like to share your thoughts to improve my calibration.

I contacted CAPTS back in November and we discussed about turbocharger upgrade. After the discussion, I decided to get the Stage-2.

I like stock low end power but I believe there is potential if we have more robust connecting rods and slightly bigger turbo. CVT of course is my limiting factor, as well as fuel. As we know, base 1.5T hatchback connecting rods are fragile and fuel system/parts is inferior compare to Civic SI.

Long story short, I upgraded connecting rods, and install CAPTS Stage-2 Turbocharger. Parts installation completed in January and I took some "break in" time just to be on the safe side before tuning.

My aim was to maintain overall low end powerband of stock 1.5T and push the power starting 4000 RPM to maintain CVT reliability.

I tuned the car by myself and I tune for moderate power rather than maximum power. You can tell from the dyno result attached there is still room to play for more power.

Tuning platform: KTuner V 1.2
Engine modification parts:
  • CAPTS Stage-2 Turbocharger
  • PRL catless downpipe
  • Custom 2.5 inch front pipe
  • Stock exhaust
  • Stock intake with Sprint Filter filter replacement
Fuel: 98 RON
Ambient Temp: 33 celcius (Dyno environment ambient temperature)

Datalog attached for your reference.

Result:
The workshop owns 2 dynamometers, Dastek and Dyna Pack. We did a test run on both dyno last year using my car to see dyno result difference between Dastek & Dyna Pack. We know Dastek is showing higher number than Dyna Pack as Dastek software is programmed to show converted on engine result. We did this twice. Running using stock calibration and custom calibration. Unfortunately torque cannot be directly converted without sacrificing accuracy too much.