Beginner downshift points and other newbie questions?

SolSiForever

First Name
Heza
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
93 Civic del Sol Si, 2020 Civic Si
Country flag
I've had my 2020 Si for a week now and I still have a lot to learn so my apologies if these are straight up dumb questions. I tried to search for a good downshift thread but wasn't finding one. My husband is an ok teacher but I feel there are some points he's lacking in since his manual experience was only ever in a truck 17 years ago. Since I'm a complete beginner (this is my first manual car) I need some help understanding what I should be doing.

Is there a good MPH range for each gear I should be aware of? I understand this will vary based on my goals and if I value efficiency, but a general idea would help me a lot. The car's guide saying to be in 6th at 39 MPH doesn't make sense to me. At 39 I'm probably in 4th. Right now I shift around 2.5-3k rpm since I'm babying everything in the break in period. Around town I rarely find a reason to get above 4th gear. Shifting up seems to make sense to me, it's easy enough to understand when to do that. What confuses me somewhat is downshifting. When, where, and why.