Mellorello

First Name
Miles
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Civic Coupe LX
Country flag
Hey guys im looking at getting rims/ tires for my Civic LX coupe ! I’m looking at Enkei 17”/8 rims .

I went to a few rim shops and one place tells me I would need 215/50R17 and the other says 225/45R17 !

I’m confused to what I would actually need?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks
Sponsored

SCOPESYS

First Name
Geoff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Honda Civic SI Coupe. . . . . . . .1987 Nissan Maxima Wagon. . . . . . . . . . .1987 Nissan Pulsar NX . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1987 Nissan Maxima Wagon (2nd Donor Wagon for parts)
Country flag
Hey guys im looking at getting rims/ tires for my Civic LX coupe ! I’m looking at Enkei 17”/8 rims .

I went to a few rim shops and one place tells me I would need 215/50R17 and the other says 225/45R17 !

I’m confused to what I would actually need?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks
I am no expert here, but from what I have read.

For a given diameter wheel rim
The as the Tyre width goes up (1st Number), the Width/tire height goes down, to maintain the same overall tire Diameter.

SO, #1 select your wheel rim diameter (say 17")

The select the tire width you want.(or think you want, that won't be toooo wide)

Then from that, calculate the ratio you need to get the right overall wheel diameter.
(Plenty of Online Tire calculators will do this, and show you the results, )

Now you have your Tire size selected.

You then need to go back to the Rim, and find one of that 17" Diameter, that will accommodate your selected tire Width.

Then there is the Offset to consider ( I still don't fully understand that, but I think it might be somewhat fixed for a given model car)

Then you go find the Wheel Rim design you want ( and can afford !!)
Then you go find the make and class of the tires you want ( and can afford)

Then you need to make sure that your selected wheel rims clear the Brake Units.