James3spearchucker

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Civic Hatchback Sport
Country flag
I'm still somewhat on the fence about which model to buy, but the Si is up my alley, although mentions of lesser reliability are of concern. There are (IMO) important differences between the 2017 Si and the 2020, but I've also begun to look at the '17. The reasoning behind this is that the older model saves me approximately 1K/yr on insurance.

The performance of the Si is important to me, not for racing, but for general traffic and road trip use. There's nothing worse than falling flat when trying to quickly maneuver traffic. Also, we have a mini cooperS w/6spd manual at present that I absolutely love driving, is fast and a dream to park (especially compared to my truck with 8' bed and crew cab).

I'm a fast driver in traffic, and suspension and 'get up' are important. Also, I shy away from the CVT because of what I've heard and because it's higher maintenance. That said, I still haven't 100% made up my mind. I'm hoping to be past the concrete issues in 2-3 weeks, at which time I'll see what's available, test drive a few more, make a decision and buy.
I think you are best served by waiting for proper test drives with cool-down periods following them. I prefer SI and Type R seats, but I like the 2.0 engine's ease of use, and easy, revving nature. The SI is an incredible bargain and is fun to drive. It is pretty much ready to go, doesn't need mods, whereas lower models beg for mods. For big winters I would go 2.0 unless I had a garage. If you don't need the hatch, SI and a garage would make for super daily fun. I had to have the hatch and it only comes with 1.5, unless you have the bigger budget and can afford the Type R, which is a proper hot hatch.
Sponsored

OP
OP
Bob.

Bob.

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Civic Si
Country flag