insurance

David Harper

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic coupe
Country flag
because of covid I decided paying for full coverage on my auto ins. was a waste of money. My car is spending most of it's time in the garage. So I dropped both collision and comprehensive and reduced my liability coverage to the state minimum. My premium is now $25 a month. I know it's risky so I drive VERY carefully. I haven't had an at-fault accident in 40 years. As for comprehensive, I've been driving for 50 years and never had a tree fall on my car. I hate insurance. 99% of the time it's a total waste of money. I realize this could turn out to be a mistake and I wouldn't advise anyone else to do it. But boy it sure changed my cash-flow situation.
Consider; if you file a claim under your collision coverage (for an at-fault accident) this is what will happen immediately: your premiums will skyrocket. Also, you will first pay your deductible which may be a thousand dollars. If an accident is the other guys fault his insurance pays for your car. But I did keep uninsured motorist coverage.
Sponsored

Last edited:

shoegazer

assistant to the assistant manager
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic LX Coupe 2.0 (CVT)
Country flag
Most financial planners advise to max out your liability coverage and then buy a $1M to $2M umbrella policy on top of that. One at fault accident could wipe you out. Understood re: cash flow and these weird times. But reducing liability is just scary in these days. Good luck.

OP
OP

David Harper

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic coupe
Country flag
Most financial planners advise to max out your liability coverage and then buy a $1M to $2M umbrella policy on top of that. One at fault accident could wipe you out. Understood re: cash flow and these weird times. But reducing liability is just scary in these days. Good luck.