How crazy am i ... 2.0 to 1.5t swap + big turbo kit

DatBoiRic

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic LX sedan 6SPD
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
I have a 2.0 manual that has roughly 60k on the clock, i adore this car and i've always wanted to turbo it. Turboing this 2.0 would be a nightmare as seen on the other threads. I work in a shop and have access to tools/lifts/technicians, how difficult would it be ( labor wise ) to purchase a 1.5t engine ($1200 or so ) and buy a PRL turbo kit ( $2500 or so ) and to swap the engine for this build ...... thoughts?
Sponsored

charleswrivers

First Name
Charles
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'14 Odyssey, '94 300zx, 2001 F-150
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
I have a 2.0 manual that has roughly 60k on the clock, i adore this car and i've always wanted to turbo it. Turboing this 2.0 would be a nightmare as seen on the other threads. I work in a shop and have access to tools/lifts/technicians, how difficult would it be ( labor wise ) to purchase a 1.5t engine ($1200 or so ) and buy a PRL turbo kit ( $2500 or so ) and to swap the engine for this build ...... thoughts?
It's a car that's still in production that's still very, very plentiful. Attachment to the car aside... I'd trade out. There's far more to think about. Going from one powertrain to another... and jumping trims in the process... Transmission (I doubt they're the same with the same ratios)? LSD is you went for the Si trim. Springs/dampers/sway bars (even if you're not going to an Si... are they all the same)? Wheels/brakes? Does the exhaust mate up properly between the two different cars... even with the turbo swap? Is the 2.0 exhaust a smaller diameter and possibly limit you...? There's probably a dozen other things I'm missing, to say nothing about the possibility of going from a lower trim to a higher trim bringing about more options you might like.