More spy pics of 2017 Civic Hatchback

17CivicTypeR_Brian

Aiming for 400whp out of the TypeR.
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'17 Black CTR #4071, 16 MDX Tech
Country flag
Booster seat a 4 year old and forward face a 2 year old? My son is 3 and still rear faces. I like him to be alive but alrighty then. Not safe at all...
I don't know how you fit in a car with a rear facing seat! How do you handle the drinks, snacks, etc?

Yeah man. My two year old turns 3 tomorrow. She is still in the harness seat. She has been front-facing since about 15 months. I'll admit I'm not an expert, but I evaluated many many factors when making the decision and its the same decision I made for both kids.
First and foremost- they're not in my car much. It's not unusual for 6 weeks to pass without them getting in my Si and when they do, it's a short trip.
Second, I'm 6'4" and I can't operate the vehicle safely with rear-facing seats on both sides. I could do it on the passenger side but then my passenger has to be up all but 4 clicks. Airbag to the face for sure-and all this when there's probably not even anyone in the back.
Third, I determined my most likely mode of collision was someone rear-ending me or hitting me on the side. The least likely mode of collision was me hitting someone else thus a frontal crash. I decided this based primarily on the fact that I haven't caused a crash since '99 but I've been in both a rear-ending and a t-boning. I've seen the crash videos and I can't see how being rear facing in a rear ending is better for anybody.
Fourth, my kids are 99percentile for size so by 6 months they were out of their carriers and in rear-facing convertibles.
They stayed rear facing a few months longer in my wife's then-Pilot just because I am not in it on a daily basis and it had slightly more room. I remember the carrier would be lodged against the front seat even in that car when I had it in proper driving position.