Well, I'm knocking.

VitViper

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Lots
(someone broke at 21psi with ktuner)
Everything in that thread relates the incident to a lubrication issue and bearing failure. I would kindly ask you stop posting hearsay as pure fact as there has been no validation of any failures on any of the included basemaps.
Sponsored

gtman

First Name
Mitch
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.civicx.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Cosmic Blue EX-L Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
I'm no expert but I have an observation. Clearly, with the wrong settings, in the wrong hands, under the right circumstances, ECU tuning can potentially cause problems.

I'm not talking about the base tunes, they seem safe.

I know the companies put up disclaimers about the risks but I wonder if there should be some limits in the software as to how aggressively the consumer can adjust them on their own. Maybe just open up the more aggressive stuff only for pro tuners?

Just a thought.

d1zguy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
19' Mustang GT Premium
Country flag
I'm no expert but I have an observation. Clearly, with the wrong settings, in the wrong hands, under the right circumstances, ECU tuning can potentially cause problems.

I know the companies put up disclaimers about the risks but I wonder if there should be some limits in the software as to how aggressively the consumer can adjust them on their own. Maybe just open up the more aggressive stuff only for pro tuners?

Just a thought.
Or you can leave the tuning to people who know what they are doing or go through the proper channels of education to do so. I.e https://www.hpacademy.com/ for example and if they break it it's on them

charleswrivers

First Name
Charles
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'14 Odyssey, '94 300zx, 2001 F-150
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag