My experience thus far with Civic X...

Windgrace

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Civic
In a phrase: not good.

So a few months ago I picked up a 2017 Civic Touring sedan as I needed a vehicle to commute approximately ~50 miles each way a day to work. I ended up getting a great deal on the car, but after driving with the car I'm starting to wonder if there was a reason for it.

First, I discovered that the Touring subwoofer rattle was very apparent on my drive home from the dealership. I had listened to the radio prior to purchasing it, but as soon as I started playing anything with moderate bass in it from my Pandora station it flared right up. Took it to the dealer a few times and they alternated between "We can't hear anything" to "You just can't listen to that type of music" to "That sounds is normal, that song will sound like that in any Touring model". I ended up following the guide to make a wedge covered in electrical tape, which stifled the rattle for most songs. The other day a song came on and the smacking/rattle was so loud I thought the rear glass was going to shatter!

The first weekend with my car I went to wax/wash it and found a flaw in the factory paint (dirt nib) on the right quarter panel next to the tail light. Took it to the dealer and after about a month of back-and-forth they decided to fix the paint under warranty. Great, I thought.