Need advice before buying new hatchback.

n09ze

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Civic Hatchback WOP
First post here, found civicx through reddit and there's a lot of good quality content here. Was hoping I could get advice/help from you guys. I am a pretty big car noob but recently I have been doing a lot of research. I am ready to pull the trigger and purchase my first brand new car - EX WOP hatchback. EX seems to be the most bang for my buck and I like all the features it offers. Is there anything I should know/do before buying it? I'm going through the Costco Auto Program and they quoted me $21,800 and $24,000 OTD (9.25% tax I believe).

The thing I'm most concerned about is getting approved at a good rate. I have great credit but not a long credit history and have no experience with loans and most likely going to get a co-signer. Any tips on this?

In terms of accessories I am planning to get all weather mats from HuskyLiners and maybe purchase a trunk mat from Honda. Are there any other accessories that you think are a very good purchase?

Sponsored

SonicHB

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Nismo 350Z, Element SC
Country flag
You're right, the EX is an amazing sweet spot Honda has hit regarding features for the $$. The options I like on my EX are Honda's high-wall all weather mats, including trunk mat, color keyed body side molding, and mud guards. Honda's mats have a soft touch to them which feels better than the hard rubber ones, and they look nice.

On Co-Signing, it might help get your loan payment down, but when you are evaluated in the future on credit they will see that you didn't carry the full weight of the loan... so to speak. Also think of the position you are putting the Co-Signor in, If something goes wrong and you can't pay, they are responsible for the whole amount. I'm sure it's common for parents to do this for their children, other than that the best scenario is if the Co-Signor is a spouse.

izitnick

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)