Detailing help

acdrag

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Civic
Hi guys, wondering if you guys can help a complete newbie when it comes to detailing. I'm looking to detail my car as I would like to keep it in pristine condition but I'm a bit confused how to approach this.

Going by Meguiars:
1-Wash
2-Surface prep (clay bar)
3-Polish
4-Protect (sealant+wax)
5-Maintain

Because Meguiars offers an extremely wide range of products, I'm not sure what to use where in each steps. Please offer me insight or if I'm doing this wrong (note my car is White).

1-Wash / Automated car wash (I do not have access to a hose to manually clean the car myself)
2-Surface prep / Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
3-Polish / Meguiar's Ultimate Polish
4-Protect / ???????????????? (too many different products, what sealant and wax do I use?)
5-Maintain / ????????????????? (Quik Detailer??? or Quik Wax???)
Sponsored

inv4zn

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'16 Touring
Country flag
Automatic car washes will never fully clean the surface from crap, so if you use a claybar right after an auto carwash make sure you use tons of lubricant, or you'll be doing more damage than good.

You can look into those "waterless" carwashes, although I personally can't fathom how they work...but lots of people have had good experiences.

For sealant/wax you can try NXT 2.0. I've used it on my cars and it's super easy to apply, doesn't cost as much as a tank of gas like some other waxes out there, and does a good job.

Maintain would be just washing it regularly. Quick detailer works but again, you're supposed to use it on a car that's already been cleaned.

OP
OP

acdrag

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Civic
Automatic car washes will never fully clean the surface from crap, so if you use a claybar right after an auto carwash make sure you use tons of lubricant, or you'll be doing more damage than good.