2017 Honda Civic Hatchback Sport CVT Paddle Shifter Tips

Enigma

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Civic Hatchback Sport CVT w/ HS
Hello all,

I'm new to the forums and this is my first post!

I'm new to the whole paddle shifters and am not quite sure how to use them and when to shift (pretty much ignorant to this). If I want to get the best out of the speed whats the best way to do this using the paddles? And whats the best way to use them in D mode and get the most out of fuel?

Thanks everyone and sorry for my ignorance haha
Sponsored

CombsCivicHatch

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Civic Hatchback Sport
Country flag
Coming from a manual transmission it was a weird learning curve for me.

I hardly use the paddle shifters now. The only time I seem to use them is when I'm first in line at a red light and when I'm getting on the highway. I just drop it in S and hit the shifter to put it in first then gun it until I get to my desired speed.

_dc_

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Coupe Touring
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
If you want the fastest acceleration from a stop, leave it in S auto mode. Don't use the fake shift paddles, it'll just slow you down.

And if you want the best fuel economy, leave it in D. Don't even use ECON, just drive like a granny in D.

tsupersonic

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'17 Civic Hatchback EX-L, '17 Forester XT
Country flag
Heh, I find it funny when manufacturers pair a CVT with paddle shifters. I mean it makes sense when a traditional automatic/DCT have paddles, but a CVT?

BarracksSi

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'17 Civic Sport Touring Hatch; '17 CR-V EX. Formerly '02 EP3.
Country flag
Heh, I find it funny when manufacturers pair a CVT with paddle shifters. I mean it makes sense when a traditional automatic/DCT have paddles, but a CVT?
I think it's simply "because they can".