New SI owner, When, Why and what I think

Old guy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 SI Coupe
Country flag
i all, long time lurker, whom just pulled the trigger, on a Aegean Blue Metallic Coupe. Just picked it up last Thursday 7/6/17.

Why the SI? I've been researching cars for a couple of years. I wanted power in 2nd gear, that is the gear you can use in town. I don't drag race and I have no tracks, to do track days on, close to me. So it's all about pulls in low gear. I wanted a car that can turn corners. I wanted MPG, my EP3 got 28 on the highway. It was/is a blast in 2nd gear, just sucked on MPGs. I wanted creature comforts, heated seats/mirrors, moonroof, keyless enter and start. Better sound system. Going from 4 speakers to 10 with a sub woofer and 450 watts.

For the longest time I thought I would get an EX-T. Only problem, no manuals came to Iowa. Only one made it here, actually for sale, since they came out. It was Rally Red and I don't drive red cars.

When I saw the stats for the Si I was blown away. 38 miles MPG on the highway (or higher). The mechanical limited slip diff, which will pay big dividends in Iowa during winter. Two tires pulling me thru the snow instead of one? A big win for me. Then after seeing VIT's Dyno numbers of what the car actually has, had to go for it.

Then there are the looks.

Honda Civic 10th gen New SI owner, When, Why and what I think 29fxjr8
Honda Civic 10th gen New SI owner, When, Why and what I think 293vy40
Honda Civic 10th gen New SI owner, When, Why and what I think 2yl4idx
Honda Civic 10th gen New SI owner, When, Why and what I think 25u6yhx
Honda Civic 10th gen New SI owner, When, Why and what I think 30xjriw
Honda Civic 10th gen New SI owner, When, Why and what I think 24curz8

Just love the look of the coupe.

What do I think.